środa, 7 października 2009

Mumbai & Udaipur

Hi!
Today I came back from my longest journey in India.
I left Delhi 30.10.09 to go to.... MUMBAI!! Finally I saw this great city!
This adventure was completely different than any other. Why? Hmm.. Let's start from the train. That was the first time when I didn't take sleeper class (normal, without AC, just fans in the cellar and quite dusty, blue beds;)), but I went by 3AC class, which means, ys, I actually didnt know what does it mean, although I was sure that the only difference will be in AC (air conditioning). How wrong I was! Firstly: every passanger had his own bedsheet, blanket and pillow (CLEAN and WHITE). Secondly (the most important): in this clas the food is provided! So after about 30 minutes from entering the train, one person from the staff gave us a plante with a sandwich, kachorri, sth sweet and juice. Later he brought a soup with breadsticks, later a big supper - U can choose: veg or non - veg and in the morning a big breakfast. Tea and coffee as much as U want. That was a shock. Better than in Europe! Especially when we're talking about the prices: 1450 Rps from Delhi to Mumbai! Not even 100zl for 1160km! And I felt like in the est InterCity (departure from Delhi 4.30pm, in Mumbai 8:30 - very fast).
When we got out from the train, on the station, there was waiting for us who??

ARITRA!!!

YS, that was the second thing which differs this journey from the other: I met my friend!!! It was soo crazy and great :)
So thanks to Aritra we had a place to sleep, because he knew a guy from coachsurfing and contacted him, so we had a nice place :) quite near to Aritra's place, so it was good :) because Mumbai is soo big...

So during our first day we've seen whole Mumbai (from the bus of course, because our place was in north Mumbai) and we've been more hmm.. chilling out, because U know Aritra.. he's lazyyy ;) so we've just come to the seaside and then to the beach, where I forced Aritra to walk :D I was able to do it unless in front of us tdhere appeared a kind of a small river going throught a beach and Aritra had shoes, so he said he's not going to take them off.. so we've turned back, but it was good :) for him it was suuuch a long distance ;) after that we wen for a juice from a sugarcane and then for supper and sth favourite... beer and drinks :) Aritra took us to the place with happy hours, so 1 beer = 2 beers, 1 drink = 2 drinks :) veery nice place :) Unfotunately, next day Aritra had his classes, so we arranged 2.10 by ourselves. First of all we had to know, how to reach the city centre, but it turned out that Aritra's family is going there, so they decided to take us there. So tat's how I met the whole Aritra's family :) ;)They are incredibly nice people, hey decided to show us a city before dropping us next to the India Gateaway, so we had an opportunity to ride through a big, new bridge above th sea. Finally, when they dropped u in the ccity centre, we went to the Elephanta Island by boat. Elephanta Island is an island with caves, where are many sculptures in the walls etc. it's better to see it in the pictures ;) very nice place. Later we went to the India Gateaway, Taj Hotel and the city with many old, beautiful buildings like the Clock Tower or Mumbai University. When we wanted to go to the promenade near to the Gate, we've finally went to slums... But what was not normal for me: nobody wanted money from us, nobody stared like usual. These people just didnt treat us like different people. And that was great. Really. Because in India people always stare at U, especially when somebody is like me: white with blond hair and blue eyes. But there, in slums, I felt really... safe. But of course, we left these surroundings to look for a promenade :) there was amazing! when U can see skyscrapers and the seaside :) Almost like Manhattan ;) At night even just like New York. At night Mumbai is mysterious, stunning and looks like a big European or USA city. Actually, Mumbai is a very civilized city, more than Delhi. People don't horn there all the time, there is cleaner and rickshaw drivers use meters!! I Delhi they dont wanna use it, U have to bargain, but in Mumbai it is normal! I think that Mumbai should be a capital, but doesnt matter. We came back about midnight back to the flat by local train (like metro) and rickshaw ;)
3rd day in Mumbai we spent in Mahalaxmi area, where is a huuuge laundry (check in he picure), a temple and a mosque on the water. Later, in the afternoon we went to Aritra's house for dinner. OMG.. that was AMAZING!! I am a great fan of Indian cuisine, but home made food is just.. perfect ;) we've spent a nice afternoon and evening, I met more people, Aritra's friends. Last day a train was at 1:30 pm, so we were able to go to the Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (earlier: Victoria Terminus), a delightful building (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chhatrapati_Shivaji_Terminus). This day it was raining a lot, so we had to go to the train.
So from Mumbai to Ahmedabad and from Ahmedabad to Udaipur :) This time we've been travelling by an old train... I dont wanna talk about it
so.. Udaipur is a city with a beautiful City Palace, the Lake Palace (one part of James Bond was shooting there), some hotels imitated for palace and.... a lot of places to shop :D:D:D:D so actually a place for me ;)
Udaipur is better to see in the pictures, so.. go to my Picasa and see them!! :)

http://picasaweb.google.co.in/anna.praselek


I haven't written anything about my trips to Amritsar, Jodhpur and Shimla, but one day I will ;) Maybe later ;)

An for now the most important is... our RECRUITMENT!!

Join to AIESEC Katowice AE!!
U can go for an internship, just like me and be a member of our organisation - just like me =)
Do U wanna make Ur dreams come true?? Join US!!--> www.aiesec.org/poland/katowiceae

środa, 23 września 2009

Varanasi - the city with the Holly River--> Ganga

Hello everyone!
after a really long time I decided to up-date some of my India exerience ;)I had no time to do it, but today I dont feel good, I'm not at work, so I decided to write sth about my journey :)


Weekend 29-30.09.09

28.09.09 we went to Varanasi (at least!!), now without any adventures, which could cancel our trip :P We were 5 people: me, Olya, Liis, Matthias and Robert. We didnt have return tickets, because it turned out that there are no tickets for the train we wanted, so we decided to go to Varanasi and check if sth changes there (because from hour to hour there's a different situation with tickets - some people resign, some book, so U never know). But when e reached Varanasi (over 700km - 20 zł :D) there were still no free tickets, so we've just booked tickets for another train (and we didnt go work, because it was too late, but no problem;)).

We've taken pre - paid rickshaw and went to the city. Bayas showed us a lot of guest houses, but, as usual, we decided for the first one (100 Rps/night) and it was a right choice. We had 2 rooms in a guesthoe next to the Ganga River. The owner of the guesthouse organized for us 2 boat trips - one during sunset and 2nd during sunrise. But at first, when we've finally accomodated, after breakfast - lunch (because we've been waiting for it for about 1,5hr), we went to the Ganga River to walk along the banks. It was great. U have to know that the Ganga River is a Holly River for Hindi people. Along this river, there are many Ghats, including 2 ghats, where they cremate people. I dont wanna lie here, so I think it'll be safier for U to read about it in the Internet, I mean about cremating bodies and put them into the river, because I can write sth wrongly. When we were walking along this river, suddenly we've seen a woman lying into the river. I though: "Who can be so crazy to lie and sleep into this river?!". But sth was wrong and after 3 -4 seconds I knew--> that was a dead woman. Why they didnt burn her? Because pregnant women and children cannot be burned. So she was just put into the river. But I dont understand one thing: Indian people whom I know told me that they dont put the whole bodies into the river, so... I dunno now, that's why it'll be better if U read it by Yourself...

Apart from this fact and ghats where they cremate people, walking around this river is very pleasant. U can really chill out, calm down and think about many things, even about the life and death. This is a really good place for doing it. During this walking around, we've met 2 really nice, small gis, who I guess saw for the first time in their life camera and video - camera, because they were so happy seeing themselves into the camera screen :P Normally, children want to talk to U, because they want Ur money, but these 2 girls were sooo nice, they didnt want anything, but pictures and later, when they discovered it - the movies, as they called "moving pictures" :)) Of course, in the end we decided to give them something, because they were so nice :)

One thing which made me completely amazed: people do the washing - up in this river. This river is SO DIRTY (not even mention that into this river, there are cremated parts of people!) and they do this washing - up and U know what? It is CLEAN! They dry these clothes next o the river, so we were able to see it.

After that, we went to the restaurant (because it started to rain - VERY much :P) for mocktails - I've taken sth very good, it was red with a huge amount of ginger (fresh ginger), so it was spicy:)) In India even mocktails are spicy, but no problem :)

In the evening we've met 3 people from Switzerland who were living in the same guesthouse and went with us for boat trip. It was soo nice, when U're on the boat on the Ganga... beautiful when it became dark, each of us put candles with roses onto this river and made a wish. According to the boy who sold these candles, if U put the candle into the water and make a wish, it will come true, so.. we'll see :)

We went to one ghat, where was a kind of celebration. I dont even know what was that exactly, but it was nice, men were doing some things with fire, smoke etc. We were sitting in a boat watching it, very beautiful :) U can see in in the pictures (facebook or my Picasa). After coming back to the hotel, we went to our restaurant with our new Swiss friends and some of us (including me of course :P) ordered a special lassi. In Pushkar, there is a special lassi as well, but in Varanasi it was really tasty! Just to remind U: special lassi is a lassi with marijuana. Well.. what I can say... It was really funny after that and very hard to wake up in the middle of the night and move about 4 metres, where the bathroom was ;) It took about 10 minutes to cover this distance... but it was funny ;) at 5-6 o'clock (morning)we had to wake up and go for the boat trip during sunrise... that was f***in' hard.. but we did it. It was beautiful, the problem was just with getting into the boat, come on: it was MOVING :P but we also did it :) In the early morning (about4-6am), religious people start to pray and take a bath in the river. ys, in the Ganga.... everything is ofc in the pitures, check it out ;)

later we spent some time walking along the banks and the city, we went to the temples and to the hops where I put saree on myself :) and later come back to Delhi... the whole night in our favourite train :) I really like Indian trains! And these prices! Awesome! After over 700km, we reached Delhi....

Next weekend we spent in Amritsar - the city of the Golden Temple, but about it later :)

niedziela, 23 sierpnia 2009

Today the 2nd part of my Himalayas :)

Unfortunately, because of the monsoon I havent been to Varanassi. Can U imagine that a rain (but that was the heaviest rain I've EVER seen) can paralyse the WHOLE city? About 3-5 mins and there'a a river in the streets, height 40 cm (literally!!). It wouldn't be anything wrong with walking in the river in the street (actually, I was forced to do it), but this water is soooo dirty :/:/:/
Anyways, we missed the train, because the traffic jams were incredible, even as for India. A distance 11 km took us 2 hrs in riksha! (this is the best means of transport, because it's small and drivers always thrust everywhere to reach the place asap)

So I had very relaxing weekend, Saturday in the zoo and Puri Quila, Sunday sleeping till 1m, shopping and movies :) veery nice :)

and now: Sunday in the Himalayas :)
Next day we decided to go to Rohtang Pass (it is a road in the mountains – 3979 m above the sea level), 50 km we were driving 4 hrs(?) sth like that, I don’t remember the exact time… but it took 4 hrs at least.

And now imagine, 11 people in a small bus, around is completely white, it’s cold, U cannot see anything outside, but U know that about 40 cm next to U, there's is a precipice! So actually U’re at the edge of the precipice and U cannot see it ;) I don’t know what is worse… but when we finally reached the top, there was completely white and FREEZING!! Maybe 3-5 degrees? I was completely freezing, but we decided to go up :) It was actually funny, but extremely freezing, when we went back near to the bus, we went into the tent, where was a shop/kitchen and drunk masala tea :) I felt like in a movies, which action is in a big mountains, when these people are so freezing cold and finally find sth to sit and drink/eat :D

and there were nice Indian people in special clothes for the mountains, just see the picture, there’s their daughter:) when we came back to the bus, we had to wait for the rest about an hour more, because they went somewhere else (but accurate when we went into the bus, it started to rain really heavy rain, so when they came back in an hour, they were completely sodden… they were like taps in the kitchen when the water’s pouring….). When we were together in a bus it turned out that there’s such a big traffic jam (ys, traffic jam in the mountain, almost 4000m above the sea) that we were not able to move next 1 hour!! But when we started to moving, it was ok :)

We thought that it will be completely the same like going up to the mountain, but after 2 hours the mountains decided to show themselves and for about an hour we were able to see these incredible mountains… I was feeling like in a fairytale, really! I’ve never ever in my entire life seen sth like that! So everybody took cameras ans started taking photos :)

never mind that outside was completely cold, the views were worth it :) These views were worth everything!! In the evening we reached our hotel... then, shopping, eating, walking around, balcony – party and sleep :)

Next day a weather was really better, we made photo session on the roof of our hotel (we had incredibly view from our room too), then eating (of course, to our favorite restaurant:)) and to the mountains to see more, to the temple, which was really nice and then we went for a walk along the bank of the river (very nice) and later to New Manali for a bus. And now the 2nd round of bus attractions… The fact that it was raining is obvious, so everybody wanted to be in a bus asap, so we sat on our seats, the windows were covered with curtains, ok, but after 15 minutes I saw sth’s wrong… when I wanted to close my window, this, which was from the seats in front of me (U know what I mean, windows which have 2 panes which draw aside to close both sides of the window) was opened, without the pane!! So our window had just 1 pane and it was raining!! Oh great.. I haven’t driven without a pane in my window in Himalayas yet, but well.. discover India :P I was actually laughing (I guess it’s not so tough to imagine, is it?), but some people were really angry (because window in front of our was with one pane too ;)). They said they’ll fix it up, but we have to go 40 km, so I though “Ok, so we’ll wait maybe 200 km and then they’ll think about it”. We departure at 4pm and after 4-5 hrs our bus stopped for a break (eating!! Delicious Indian food!!) and imagine how shocked I was seeing that after 20 minutes sth’s going on in a bus… They were fixing up the window! But how! With a carton! They just glued a carton to the window! But for me that was no difference, cause they “installed” this carton in the first part of the window and mine part was closed with a pane, but the problem was that… between carton and a pane, there was nothing, so freezy rain and air was blowing at me all the time. But I’ve just laugh and coverd myself with my raincoat and went sleep :D so I survived, mailny thanks to Yen - my friend from Malaysia, who each hour fixed up the carton, otherwise it would be completely broken...
Finally we reached Delhi after 7 and I've been just in time for Rohan at 8:40 on a bus stop :D

piątek, 21 sierpnia 2009

Himalayas part 1 :)



As I promised, today will be about my first day in Himalayas :D
On Monday will be the next one, because today we're going to Varanasi :) let's get it started!

First of all: as some of U know, 15.08 is a day free from work in India – Independence day, but it was unfortunately Saturday, but… Friday was free too, because of Krishna birthday :) so we decided to go somewhere far, but we left on Thursday, so we didn’t go to work on Thursday (don’t worry, I’m not going to break my internship;)), so I was able to sleep or it was just sth what I wanted to do, because Ola (remember this crazy girl from SMS LC Gdańsk? – now we’re living in one room, because she had problems with her traineeship in Chandigarh, so now she’s in Delhi on CEED) was going out at 12 and I wanted to go for a while to another flat, next to us, so I went out and I thought “Ok, I’ll be in 10 minutes and go back sleep”, but of course, it wouldn’t be our flat if nothing happen. I gave Ola my keys, because I thought I won’t need them, because we’re going to Manali and she’s coming back in the evening when we’ll be out. So after about 30 minutes I came back home and… surprise… U can open our flat just with the key both sides of the doors. So situation was like that: I was outside, Robert was inside, without a key, because he didn’t double it and Matthias, who was sitting in a corridor when I left a house went out to work!! The reas was at work too, so… I was not able to get into my own flat for next 3 hours!! I couldn’t do anything, cook, wash my clothes, anything! I had a lot of work, but there was no solution.. I had to go to a trainee house which is next to ours. Thanks God, there were 4 people, so great :) I spent there 3 hrs (my friend even cooked a lunch for me :D) and then was sth like express.. because we went to Manali and I had 30 minutes for everything!! It was soo hot this day, I was completely exhausted, but finally I managed to do everything and we went to the main road to catch the rickshaw, but of course, when U need a rickshaw, everything’s busy!! We caught it after 10 minutes! Believe me – it’s not normal in India, normally they ask U if U wanna go about 10 times on one street… But finally we did it! And we reached the station :) Of course, the bus was 1,5h (sth like that, I don’t remember, but it was a long time…) delayed, but who cares? It was just 40 degrees ;) everybody were tired and needed a shower, but that’s India :P
After eating ice creams and street popcorn we’ve finally hit the road!! And now the show started :P Our bus was not so bad, no, U can open the window and have free AC ;)so first 5 hrs were really ok, but after this time I think our driver got lost. Why?? Because we were driving in the middle of the village, which U won’t find in any pictures! That was completely hell-hole! And a road? That was not a road that was a hole on a hole covered with mud! :P but the best was still before me… After 2-3 hrs driving in this “incredible” landscape (cows, mud, disastrous houses, rubbish etc…) and one of its kind road we found ourselves next to the… river! The road gone and started river – I was sure that this gut will come back, but what did he do? This crazy driver crossed the river! Crossed the river with a bus full of people! :P U see.. Discover India xD Literally :P and U know… a distance between Delhi and Manali we overshoot in 17 hrs!! And the distance was 540 km… :P:P

so it’s a special, Indian time B-) but actually I’m happy I’ve reached the destination… And 1pm we were in Manali!!! First 3 hrs was 26 degrees, Sun was shining… A dream! but after that time from minute to minute it started to rain and it was about 18 degrees? Cold!! It was amazing feeling cold :D
Most of people decided to stay in our hotel (100 Rps/day, about 8 zl :D), but I didn’t want waste my time in Himalayas! So we went in several people for sightseeing the temples, but first of course eat sth, everybody were so hungry! We’ve found very nice restaurant with very nice food and very nice prices (really good lunch, very big and lassi – 100 Rps). After eating we went to these temples. It was nice, the air was sooo fresh! We saw a temple in a cave!

That was great, outside it’s just a wooden building, a temple, but U’re going into and U have to bow down, because U’re going into the cave! Later we were just walking around and then… shopping :D
These cities, when we’re going somewhere out of Delhi, are hmm.. killing for my wallet, but if U were here, U would understand me :) especially when U convert it in to Polish zloty..but whatever, that town was great – it is a town of hippies, really, that is the first city in India where are more white than Indian people. Well.. they were not even tourists, because hippies are living there normally, because Manali is a hmm.. special city ;) Legalized marijuana? I’m sure it is, but I haven’t found, maybe because I haven’t searched for it ;) Whole city was so colorful because of these shops and people!! When in the evening we went to sit somewhere, we went to a nice restaurant and believe me: “waiter” (of course looked like hippie;)) was really high ;) U know what I mean? He greeted us (about 10-11 pm) with “Good MORNING my friends!” I said “Good evening” and he said “Come on, we are from different time zones!” and started to laugh :P thanks God he was able to write what we wanted and it was good (I think that cook was not so high , because chapatti were GREAT!). Actually, first day was funny ;)

czwartek, 20 sierpnia 2009

8-9.08.09

Hi!

A small up-date today, because it will be an up-date of the weekend 8-9.08.09 :P
Because about previous weekend will be a long note, so firstly this one :D

But before the weekend, sth about my work ;) There are some changes in my workplace: I?ve moved out from my office to another (the same building, but it?s always a kind of removal ;))
So now I?m sitting in the office full of people and U know what? I?m WORKING!!
It?s not this, what was last month that after 3-4 hours I had nothing to do, because I?ve already done everything... now when I finish, I?m receiving another one, so I?m not boring :P actually I?m glad I?ve moved. Next to me, there sit 2 girls who are not interns, very nice, it?s even funny I could say. Of course, boring days are normal, because I don?t think that many people like sitting in front of the computer 8 hrs/day? But I?ll manage it :D

Now sth about my life after work :D
So, the weekend after GV I spent in Delhi. I visited Lotus Temple, ISKCON Temple on Saturday (U know? one day I have to sleep, so we went out at 4pm;)) and on Sunday Jantar Mantar and India Gate. Jantar Mantar is an observatory with very original buildings, check it out in the internet, it?s worth;) Everything?s geometric and very nice :D (www.jantarmantar.org) Temples were amazing ? Lotus Temple is the most quiet place in Delhi, very peaceful and beautiful. Actually, outside is more pretty, because inside there?s nothing, just the branches, but it?s sooo peaceful.. Like not in Delhi ;) But ISKCON temple was completely contrary to Lotus Temple? There was noisy, VERY COLORFUL and funny ;) I don?t know if it?s good to tell that in the temple is funny, but it was ;) Let?s start from a fact that it?s Krishna Temple and when we were there, there was no more tourists. Not even one white person! Just Indian people, so everybody was staring at us all the time, but? until we did one thing. In front of the temple, they have sth like ?flower path?. These are flowers painted on the floor around the sculpture of some god. There are really many flowers and U have to stand on each of them saying sth like a prayer to Krishna, which they give U in the beginning. We wanted to sightseeing, but we saw that it will be better if we do it. Actually, maybe on first 3 flowers I?ve read this piece of paper, but later I was just counting to 10 and pass next flowers. It took about 15 (!) minutes, but believe me, when we finished, everything changed completely: people stopped staring at us and accepted! I think that they thought we are Hare Krishna from Poland :D:D but it was really nice to spend some time in completely different place, unusual. I know that it?s a sect in Poland, but here it?s a normal religion. People in the temple were dancing, singing, meditated or even? toss small children up and down! In the temple! I was hocked, but it was just next experience in India ;) ISKCON is a big complex, it?s not just a temple, but many building around, including hotel ;)
When after about 2,5 hrs we went out it was dark and each person who went out of the temple received some kind of soup, but I decided that it?s too much impressions for that day and didn?t take it ;) but earlier, within the ISKCON complex I?ve bought the best cookie in the world!! U know.. in Delhi U cannot find anything what tastes just a bit like a normal bun or bread ? everything?s packed, here?s mainly an English bread, U know, this for toasts.. So I was SOOO happy buying sth like that! So these are my impressions from weekend 2 weeks ago ;)
tomorrow be ready for a long note or maybe... next 3 days I'll be putting into this site ;) like a soap opera :D;D but no... this weekend I'm going out, so we'll see ;) because U wont survive such a long story by once ;) too long :P

cheers!!

czwartek, 6 sierpnia 2009

Empower!! In other words--> Global Village in India!! :)





5.08.09 @Du organized GLOBAL VILLAGE!!
And I have to say that it was a really great experience 

This event (EMPOWER 2009) took place in front of a big shopping mall (www.selectcitywalk.com), where is a huge square with palms and fountains! :)

Unfortunately, many interns protested and decided not to go… Why?? If somebody wants to know, I’ll inform about it by myself, in Poland, because it’s a story which I wouldn’t like to write here about. But still, there were about 25 interns!!

During Global Village we were singing, dancing (@dances :)), eating, drinking (Red Bulls of course – Paweł would be happy :D) and making new friends! I’ve met A LOT of people!  Hopefully, these acquaintances will be fruitful in the future :D

These people are really positive, crazy and obviously professional in this, what they’re doing :)

So.. GV last about 3hrs and then we went clubbing ;) so it was the next unforgettable day!

Check it in the pictures :)

środa, 5 sierpnia 2009