niedziela, 23 sierpnia 2009

Today the 2nd part of my Himalayas :)

Unfortunately, because of the monsoon I havent been to Varanassi. Can U imagine that a rain (but that was the heaviest rain I've EVER seen) can paralyse the WHOLE city? About 3-5 mins and there'a a river in the streets, height 40 cm (literally!!). It wouldn't be anything wrong with walking in the river in the street (actually, I was forced to do it), but this water is soooo dirty :/:/:/
Anyways, we missed the train, because the traffic jams were incredible, even as for India. A distance 11 km took us 2 hrs in riksha! (this is the best means of transport, because it's small and drivers always thrust everywhere to reach the place asap)

So I had very relaxing weekend, Saturday in the zoo and Puri Quila, Sunday sleeping till 1m, shopping and movies :) veery nice :)

and now: Sunday in the Himalayas :)
Next day we decided to go to Rohtang Pass (it is a road in the mountains – 3979 m above the sea level), 50 km we were driving 4 hrs(?) sth like that, I don’t remember the exact time… but it took 4 hrs at least.

And now imagine, 11 people in a small bus, around is completely white, it’s cold, U cannot see anything outside, but U know that about 40 cm next to U, there's is a precipice! So actually U’re at the edge of the precipice and U cannot see it ;) I don’t know what is worse… but when we finally reached the top, there was completely white and FREEZING!! Maybe 3-5 degrees? I was completely freezing, but we decided to go up :) It was actually funny, but extremely freezing, when we went back near to the bus, we went into the tent, where was a shop/kitchen and drunk masala tea :) I felt like in a movies, which action is in a big mountains, when these people are so freezing cold and finally find sth to sit and drink/eat :D

and there were nice Indian people in special clothes for the mountains, just see the picture, there’s their daughter:) when we came back to the bus, we had to wait for the rest about an hour more, because they went somewhere else (but accurate when we went into the bus, it started to rain really heavy rain, so when they came back in an hour, they were completely sodden… they were like taps in the kitchen when the water’s pouring….). When we were together in a bus it turned out that there’s such a big traffic jam (ys, traffic jam in the mountain, almost 4000m above the sea) that we were not able to move next 1 hour!! But when we started to moving, it was ok :)

We thought that it will be completely the same like going up to the mountain, but after 2 hours the mountains decided to show themselves and for about an hour we were able to see these incredible mountains… I was feeling like in a fairytale, really! I’ve never ever in my entire life seen sth like that! So everybody took cameras ans started taking photos :)

never mind that outside was completely cold, the views were worth it :) These views were worth everything!! In the evening we reached our hotel... then, shopping, eating, walking around, balcony – party and sleep :)

Next day a weather was really better, we made photo session on the roof of our hotel (we had incredibly view from our room too), then eating (of course, to our favorite restaurant:)) and to the mountains to see more, to the temple, which was really nice and then we went for a walk along the bank of the river (very nice) and later to New Manali for a bus. And now the 2nd round of bus attractions… The fact that it was raining is obvious, so everybody wanted to be in a bus asap, so we sat on our seats, the windows were covered with curtains, ok, but after 15 minutes I saw sth’s wrong… when I wanted to close my window, this, which was from the seats in front of me (U know what I mean, windows which have 2 panes which draw aside to close both sides of the window) was opened, without the pane!! So our window had just 1 pane and it was raining!! Oh great.. I haven’t driven without a pane in my window in Himalayas yet, but well.. discover India :P I was actually laughing (I guess it’s not so tough to imagine, is it?), but some people were really angry (because window in front of our was with one pane too ;)). They said they’ll fix it up, but we have to go 40 km, so I though “Ok, so we’ll wait maybe 200 km and then they’ll think about it”. We departure at 4pm and after 4-5 hrs our bus stopped for a break (eating!! Delicious Indian food!!) and imagine how shocked I was seeing that after 20 minutes sth’s going on in a bus… They were fixing up the window! But how! With a carton! They just glued a carton to the window! But for me that was no difference, cause they “installed” this carton in the first part of the window and mine part was closed with a pane, but the problem was that… between carton and a pane, there was nothing, so freezy rain and air was blowing at me all the time. But I’ve just laugh and coverd myself with my raincoat and went sleep :D so I survived, mailny thanks to Yen - my friend from Malaysia, who each hour fixed up the carton, otherwise it would be completely broken...
Finally we reached Delhi after 7 and I've been just in time for Rohan at 8:40 on a bus stop :D

piątek, 21 sierpnia 2009

Himalayas part 1 :)



As I promised, today will be about my first day in Himalayas :D
On Monday will be the next one, because today we're going to Varanasi :) let's get it started!

First of all: as some of U know, 15.08 is a day free from work in India – Independence day, but it was unfortunately Saturday, but… Friday was free too, because of Krishna birthday :) so we decided to go somewhere far, but we left on Thursday, so we didn’t go to work on Thursday (don’t worry, I’m not going to break my internship;)), so I was able to sleep or it was just sth what I wanted to do, because Ola (remember this crazy girl from SMS LC Gdańsk? – now we’re living in one room, because she had problems with her traineeship in Chandigarh, so now she’s in Delhi on CEED) was going out at 12 and I wanted to go for a while to another flat, next to us, so I went out and I thought “Ok, I’ll be in 10 minutes and go back sleep”, but of course, it wouldn’t be our flat if nothing happen. I gave Ola my keys, because I thought I won’t need them, because we’re going to Manali and she’s coming back in the evening when we’ll be out. So after about 30 minutes I came back home and… surprise… U can open our flat just with the key both sides of the doors. So situation was like that: I was outside, Robert was inside, without a key, because he didn’t double it and Matthias, who was sitting in a corridor when I left a house went out to work!! The reas was at work too, so… I was not able to get into my own flat for next 3 hours!! I couldn’t do anything, cook, wash my clothes, anything! I had a lot of work, but there was no solution.. I had to go to a trainee house which is next to ours. Thanks God, there were 4 people, so great :) I spent there 3 hrs (my friend even cooked a lunch for me :D) and then was sth like express.. because we went to Manali and I had 30 minutes for everything!! It was soo hot this day, I was completely exhausted, but finally I managed to do everything and we went to the main road to catch the rickshaw, but of course, when U need a rickshaw, everything’s busy!! We caught it after 10 minutes! Believe me – it’s not normal in India, normally they ask U if U wanna go about 10 times on one street… But finally we did it! And we reached the station :) Of course, the bus was 1,5h (sth like that, I don’t remember, but it was a long time…) delayed, but who cares? It was just 40 degrees ;) everybody were tired and needed a shower, but that’s India :P
After eating ice creams and street popcorn we’ve finally hit the road!! And now the show started :P Our bus was not so bad, no, U can open the window and have free AC ;)so first 5 hrs were really ok, but after this time I think our driver got lost. Why?? Because we were driving in the middle of the village, which U won’t find in any pictures! That was completely hell-hole! And a road? That was not a road that was a hole on a hole covered with mud! :P but the best was still before me… After 2-3 hrs driving in this “incredible” landscape (cows, mud, disastrous houses, rubbish etc…) and one of its kind road we found ourselves next to the… river! The road gone and started river – I was sure that this gut will come back, but what did he do? This crazy driver crossed the river! Crossed the river with a bus full of people! :P U see.. Discover India xD Literally :P and U know… a distance between Delhi and Manali we overshoot in 17 hrs!! And the distance was 540 km… :P:P

so it’s a special, Indian time B-) but actually I’m happy I’ve reached the destination… And 1pm we were in Manali!!! First 3 hrs was 26 degrees, Sun was shining… A dream! but after that time from minute to minute it started to rain and it was about 18 degrees? Cold!! It was amazing feeling cold :D
Most of people decided to stay in our hotel (100 Rps/day, about 8 zl :D), but I didn’t want waste my time in Himalayas! So we went in several people for sightseeing the temples, but first of course eat sth, everybody were so hungry! We’ve found very nice restaurant with very nice food and very nice prices (really good lunch, very big and lassi – 100 Rps). After eating we went to these temples. It was nice, the air was sooo fresh! We saw a temple in a cave!

That was great, outside it’s just a wooden building, a temple, but U’re going into and U have to bow down, because U’re going into the cave! Later we were just walking around and then… shopping :D
These cities, when we’re going somewhere out of Delhi, are hmm.. killing for my wallet, but if U were here, U would understand me :) especially when U convert it in to Polish zloty..but whatever, that town was great – it is a town of hippies, really, that is the first city in India where are more white than Indian people. Well.. they were not even tourists, because hippies are living there normally, because Manali is a hmm.. special city ;) Legalized marijuana? I’m sure it is, but I haven’t found, maybe because I haven’t searched for it ;) Whole city was so colorful because of these shops and people!! When in the evening we went to sit somewhere, we went to a nice restaurant and believe me: “waiter” (of course looked like hippie;)) was really high ;) U know what I mean? He greeted us (about 10-11 pm) with “Good MORNING my friends!” I said “Good evening” and he said “Come on, we are from different time zones!” and started to laugh :P thanks God he was able to write what we wanted and it was good (I think that cook was not so high , because chapatti were GREAT!). Actually, first day was funny ;)

czwartek, 20 sierpnia 2009

8-9.08.09

Hi!

A small up-date today, because it will be an up-date of the weekend 8-9.08.09 :P
Because about previous weekend will be a long note, so firstly this one :D

But before the weekend, sth about my work ;) There are some changes in my workplace: I?ve moved out from my office to another (the same building, but it?s always a kind of removal ;))
So now I?m sitting in the office full of people and U know what? I?m WORKING!!
It?s not this, what was last month that after 3-4 hours I had nothing to do, because I?ve already done everything... now when I finish, I?m receiving another one, so I?m not boring :P actually I?m glad I?ve moved. Next to me, there sit 2 girls who are not interns, very nice, it?s even funny I could say. Of course, boring days are normal, because I don?t think that many people like sitting in front of the computer 8 hrs/day? But I?ll manage it :D

Now sth about my life after work :D
So, the weekend after GV I spent in Delhi. I visited Lotus Temple, ISKCON Temple on Saturday (U know? one day I have to sleep, so we went out at 4pm;)) and on Sunday Jantar Mantar and India Gate. Jantar Mantar is an observatory with very original buildings, check it out in the internet, it?s worth;) Everything?s geometric and very nice :D (www.jantarmantar.org) Temples were amazing ? Lotus Temple is the most quiet place in Delhi, very peaceful and beautiful. Actually, outside is more pretty, because inside there?s nothing, just the branches, but it?s sooo peaceful.. Like not in Delhi ;) But ISKCON temple was completely contrary to Lotus Temple? There was noisy, VERY COLORFUL and funny ;) I don?t know if it?s good to tell that in the temple is funny, but it was ;) Let?s start from a fact that it?s Krishna Temple and when we were there, there was no more tourists. Not even one white person! Just Indian people, so everybody was staring at us all the time, but? until we did one thing. In front of the temple, they have sth like ?flower path?. These are flowers painted on the floor around the sculpture of some god. There are really many flowers and U have to stand on each of them saying sth like a prayer to Krishna, which they give U in the beginning. We wanted to sightseeing, but we saw that it will be better if we do it. Actually, maybe on first 3 flowers I?ve read this piece of paper, but later I was just counting to 10 and pass next flowers. It took about 15 (!) minutes, but believe me, when we finished, everything changed completely: people stopped staring at us and accepted! I think that they thought we are Hare Krishna from Poland :D:D but it was really nice to spend some time in completely different place, unusual. I know that it?s a sect in Poland, but here it?s a normal religion. People in the temple were dancing, singing, meditated or even? toss small children up and down! In the temple! I was hocked, but it was just next experience in India ;) ISKCON is a big complex, it?s not just a temple, but many building around, including hotel ;)
When after about 2,5 hrs we went out it was dark and each person who went out of the temple received some kind of soup, but I decided that it?s too much impressions for that day and didn?t take it ;) but earlier, within the ISKCON complex I?ve bought the best cookie in the world!! U know.. in Delhi U cannot find anything what tastes just a bit like a normal bun or bread ? everything?s packed, here?s mainly an English bread, U know, this for toasts.. So I was SOOO happy buying sth like that! So these are my impressions from weekend 2 weeks ago ;)
tomorrow be ready for a long note or maybe... next 3 days I'll be putting into this site ;) like a soap opera :D;D but no... this weekend I'm going out, so we'll see ;) because U wont survive such a long story by once ;) too long :P

cheers!!

czwartek, 6 sierpnia 2009

Empower!! In other words--> Global Village in India!! :)





5.08.09 @Du organized GLOBAL VILLAGE!!
And I have to say that it was a really great experience 

This event (EMPOWER 2009) took place in front of a big shopping mall (www.selectcitywalk.com), where is a huge square with palms and fountains! :)

Unfortunately, many interns protested and decided not to go… Why?? If somebody wants to know, I’ll inform about it by myself, in Poland, because it’s a story which I wouldn’t like to write here about. But still, there were about 25 interns!!

During Global Village we were singing, dancing (@dances :)), eating, drinking (Red Bulls of course – Paweł would be happy :D) and making new friends! I’ve met A LOT of people!  Hopefully, these acquaintances will be fruitful in the future :D

These people are really positive, crazy and obviously professional in this, what they’re doing :)

So.. GV last about 3hrs and then we went clubbing ;) so it was the next unforgettable day!

Check it in the pictures :)

środa, 5 sierpnia 2009






Raksha Bandan

What is that? It’s a Hindu festival, which celebrates the relationship between brothers and sisters. It is celebrated on the full moon of the month of Shraavana (Shravan Poornima).
That’s what Wikipedia says and that’s true :) Yesterday/today we celebrated it together in our flat :) With Himanshu of course :)

He came to show us, how does it look like and… everybody were amazed! Why? Because it was really interesting and different from things we got used to ;)

But maybe I’ll start from the beginning. A girl must wear sth on head, I mean, I had a shawl. Then, she takes a special plate (a kind of, look at the picture) with lighted Incense Cones and 7 times move it around a face of a guy. Then, she put her “holly finger” (this finger next to the smallest one) into the water, then into a kind of powder (color) and then into the rice and make a dot on a forehead. After that, a girl tie the “Rakhi” (check it in the pictures – these are these things on wrists;)) Then, a girl feed her new brother (baja) with sth sweet (Himanshu took – as he said - the sweetest thing in India – Rasgulla). And finally the brother gives hs new sister a gift :) I have chocolates :D great!!

So… from yesterday I have 7 brothers ;)
Happy Raksha Bandan!!!

sobota, 1 sierpnia 2009

Today (well.. for me it's now yesterday, but who cares? :P) I had a great day. U know why? Cause I spent it with... Himanshu!!! Yes, our Himanshu (for people who don't know who's that - he's a trainee and our (AIESECers) friend who was in Katowice for his internship).

What's funny, when I woke up today (about 12;)), I thought that nothing's going to happen cause nobody had any plans for today.
The only plan which we had was to make pancakes, but everything's changed after one conversation on gmail after which I was waiting for Himanshu at home :)

We had such a great time! We were in the market, where I've eaten something which name I even don't know, but it was good - like all indian food ;) then we went to the mall (a very big one), btw, do U know that in Delhi, there's at least 60 shopping malls?! And believe me - SCC is not that big... We were just walking around and talking and then I've fallen in love with sth like mango shake :D that was extremely delicious! I love mangoes here, but unfortunately mango season is finishing:/ that's why it's more and more expensive:/

but coming back to today: that was the first day when I was in... indian cinema :D that was so cool! U know why? because in India, here are 2 classes of cinema halls/rooms (U know what I mean;)). Surprisingly for me, we went to Golden Class. I've never seen sth like that: people have there their own, huge, extremely comfortable armchairs, which are moveable (U can sit or even lay on them). Waitresses serve U drinks and food - of course, if U want it ;) In one hall, there were 4-5 rows, in each was about 8 armchairs. We had 2 by the wall, next to the exit, so we were able to go out of the cinema when we were not able to stand this movie ;) that was a Bollywood movie (now a new Bollywood movie is released, so in the cinema, in the evening U can find only this one), so it was in hindi ;) Believe me.. great experience, when each 3 minutes Himanshu's translating the text for me xD of course, I'm lerning hindi (namaste, baja, aća, sida', tike - of course, it is my pronunciation, which means that just people from Poland will be able to read it;)), but I can't understand a movie yet;)

and then, after all, we went to South Indian Restaurant and we ate "dosa". That was GREAT! I really like Indian food :)

and then (midnight?) we came back home :)He was just surprised that I can stand here without AC. But we have many fens! and 2 aircoolers (ok, we don't use them normally, but it's just because it's not hot enough to use them!), but it's really not bad here without AC. I got used to it and now, at work, I never have a shirt without sleeves. It's just too cold for me ;)

one more thing: today my friend from Kraków is coming!! Actually, he should be here in about 10 minutes ;)

so.. I'm finishing my today's post :)
good night!